Already inhabited during the neolithic period, Augny developed with the Roman occupation and the arrival of Avinius, who gave his name to the town. Augny’s history is strongly linked to Metz, the Antiquity, and the evacuation of its residents in 1940. Metz castle-farms of aristocratic families and the Château d'Augny can be found here.
Discover our heritage
- Parc Simon has 12 ha which resemble 19th century English gardens.
- “La croix des vignes (the vineyard cross)” nature walk: hiking trails with breathtaking views of the Seille and Moselle valleys. Download the map of nature walks in Metz Métropole
- Revamped 13th century Prayelle castle-farm.
- 16th century Grosyeux castle-farm (Monuments Historiques - Historic Monument certification)
- 14th century Saint-Benoît tower