The first reference to the village dates back to 1404. In 1480, the commune was mentioned under the spelling Coing, the name of the fruit which grows in the surrounding areas (the quince fruit).
Today we can see the vestiges of the old castle which was rebuilt and reformed in the 17th and 18th centuries: the surrounding wall, two towers, the orangery, old farm and Saint-Laurent chapel. The latter is open to the public once a year, for Mass in honour of Saint-Laurent, patron of Cydogniens (Coin-sur-Seille residents).
The academic and playwright François de Curel, who was born in Metz in 1874, rests in the chapel’s crypt. It’s the ideal place for a walk along the Seille river, following the route of the former railway line linking Metz to Château-Salins.
Discover our heritage
- “Les rives de la Seille (the banks of the Seille)” nature walk: walk along the Seille and the route of the former Metz-Château-Salins railway line. Download the map of nature walks in Metz Métropole
- Saint-Laurent chapel and the castle remains, including the old farm.