Laquenexy dates back to the Gallo-Roman era: indeed, a villa that seems to have been lived in until the end of the Middle Ages was discovered in the area. The land was farmed due to its fertile soil.
This richness of the soil was confirmed many centuries later, with the creation of the Jardin Fruitiers in 1904, originally to test different grape varieties, then all fruits, with more than 1,000 varieties.
Discover our heritage
- Laquenexy Jardins Fruitiers: created during the Annexation in 1904, its original purpose was to test different grape varieties. After the war, the centre expanded to include all fruits, particularly mirabelle plums, apples and pears. The reputation of the Centre Départemental d’Expérimentation Fruitière (Regional Centre for Fruit Testing) travelled beyond its regional borders in the 1950s. At the end of the 1990s, the gardens, with more than 1,000 fruit varieties, were one of the most significant fruit collections in France. The garden has been open to the public since 2008. The Laquenexy Jardins Fruitiers are part of the “Jardins sans Limites” network.
- Monument à la Vierge Marie (Monument to the Virgin Mary)
- Saint-Maximin church in Villers-Laquenexy
- Emile Collin’s calvary
- “La Nied française (The French Nied river)” nature walk: download the map of nature walks in Metz Métropole