Montigny-lès-Metz, which means “in front of Metz”, is an old market gardening village. It would seem that much like the neighbouring villages, its origins come from the time of Roman conquest.
Fortified farms (Horgne, Grange-le-Mercier, Blory) could be found in the former commune of Saint-Privat in the Middle Ages.
In the 17th century a convent of Benedictine nuns could be found in Saint-Antoine-de-Padoue, on the outskirts of the current city centre. Remains from the 18th century include the Château de Courcelles and the Maison Frescatelly in the Botanical Garden.
The commune grew and developed in 1850 with the arrival of the railway and the construction of workshops. Its military role evolved during the 1871 to 1918 Annexation with the construction of barracks.
The town experienced a real boom after the Second World War with the densification of its built-up area.

Discover our heritage

  • Château de Courcelles and its 2 ha tree-lined park. Exhibitions are displayed there all year round.
  • Saint-Joseph church, opened in 1906
  • Jeanne d’Arc church, opened in 1960. Camille Hilaire stained-glass windows.
  • 13th century Saint-Privat chapel
  • The Protestant church
  • Jouy canal
  • Jardin Devant-Blory