The first mention of Moulins-lès-Metz appeared in 936 under the name “Molendinum”, a small town with many mills.
As a strategic place on the banks of the Moselle, it saw the construction of two fortified manor houses in the 15th century that still exist today: Château Fabert, which hosted King Henry IV of France in March 1603, and Château de Grignan.
As for the bridge, it is the oldest in the region. It has spanned the prairie since 1614 because the Moselle stopped flowing under its arches. It has been classed as a Monument Historique (Historic Monument) since 1989.
Discover our heritage
- Jouy canal
- Saint-Pierre Apôtre and Saint-Pierre churches
- Château Fabert and Château de Grignan, old fortified manor houses
- The old bridge on the prairie
- Several works by Paul Flickinger and André Forfert
- The V50 cycle path (formerly known as Charles le Téméraire)
- The “Outre-Moselle” nature walk: download the map of nature walks in Metz Métropole