Sainte-Ruffine has been inhabited since the Neolithic Period. Its etymology dates back to 927. It was a thermal village during the 2nd century, but the fragility of the soil had taken its toll on the thermal baths.
Its chapel is also a testimony to its rich ancient past, as it was built in the 18th century on Merovingian foundations.
For several centuries its main business was viticulture, as evidenced by the 14th century toggle press, and even the old wine-growers’ houses.
Discover our heritage
- The church, built in 1726 and restored in the 19th century.
- Notre-Dame chapel, attached to the old medieval church that was demolished at the start of the 18th century, which has a statue of the Virgin Mary from the 15th century.
- The 19th century press, built from elements of an old toggle press.
- The old 18th century wine-growers’ houses.
- Two wash houses
- The “Sur les traces des Romains (In the Romans’ footsteps)” nature walk: download the map of nature walks in Metz Métropole