It was only in 1819 that the communes of Vany and Villers l’Orme were united. The first was once a seigniory of the Knights of the Order of Malta.
A battle against Prussia took place in Vany in 1870. The neo-Roman Notre-Dame de La Salette chapel in Villers l’Orme dates back to this period, in front of which is a statue representing Lorraine in chains. An altar dedicated to Notre-Dame de Fàtima (Our Lady of Fàtima) was erected opposite the chapel.
Discover our heritage
In Vany :
- The village square, its fountain, usoirs, and typical Lorraine village houses
In Villers l'Orme :
- Saint-Esprit chapel, built in 1181, rebuilt in the 15th century
- Notre-Dame de la Salette chapel, erected in 1868 as a pilgrimage site
- The altar in memory of Our Lady of Fàtima, the name of the Virgin Mary after her apparition in the village of Fàtima in the centre of Portugal. Portuguese visitors sometimes come and engage in private prayer in front of the Vany chapel.
- The Croix de Louve, erected in 1445 and restored in 1981